Friday, April 27, 2012

Golden Age/Silver Screen: Young Justice Finale

If you had asked me a couple years ago if I would be absolutely in love with a show about DC sidekicks that ISN'T called Teen Titans then I would have most likely responded with a snort of derision. Aqualad and Miss Martian holding my attention? Are you kidding me?


Flash forward to now, and Young Justice is one of the best shows on television and without a doubt the greatest thing to come out of DC Animation since the DCAU. And now we come to the Season 1 finale. Boy what a ride.

Revelations abound as the how and why are finally revealed with the whole "mole" story arc. We are witness to character upheavals as they have to put their baggage and daddy issues aside and battle their mentors. It's an all-out smack-down with Young Justice vs. the Justice League. With all of the action packed in I was surprised to see actual plot and character development as well.

Like I said, Superboy had his story arc develop by battling Superman. And Miss Martian as well learned to accept herself a little more, going into her true form in order to defeat the League.

The villain reveal was done well and I have to say this is my favorite depiction of Vandal Savage I've seen so far. Too often his motivations and strategy don't stack up to detailed scrutiny (looking at you "JL: Doom") but in this I believed every bit of it. It was a great finale to a great season. Looking back, nearly every episode seemed to be building up to this peak, it was all set together so well.

It also sets up perfectly for the next season, giving us a new mystery to anticipate and showing us a sneak peak at what's in store. When I saw armless Roy in that stasis tube, the fanboy in me dropped his jaw. ARSENAL!

The best part is, Season 2 starts next week! If more shows could do that, I would be in heaven. And it promises to only climb higher in quality; if only because of the inclusion of one of my favorite young heroes: Blue Beetle! Here's a sneak peak of the monumental television spectacle of YJ Season 2, titled Young Justice: Invasion.




I've rambled on too long about the glorious YJ finale, so I'll just say a few quick words about the rest of the shows this week:

Green Lantern: The Animated Series - A good episode, but a dip in quality due to last week's episode being so phenomenal. The character development for Kilowag was nice, and I like that they are taking the time to build up the menace of the Yellow Lanterns. When Sinestro is finally introduced, I know it's going to be great.

DC Nation Shorts - There was a Plastic Man short (which was alright) and a New Teen Titans short, which is always good for nostalgia at the very least. This particular episode just so happens to be the best DC Short so far. References to Doctor Who, Scooby-Doo, and the 80's Titans look all made me fuzzy on the inside. This really needs to be a full show.




Avengers: Earth's Mightiest Heroes - Lots of big introductions, the official reveal of Ms. Marvel, along with S.W.O.R.D. and the Kree forces, including Mar-Vell and Ronan the Accuser. A really great showing, especially for fans of cosmic Marvel. Abigail Brande stole the show and was quite bad-ass. Mostly action, but this show sure does that well. With only one season left before the show ends, I'm nervous how they are going to juggle both Civil War and the Kree/Skrull War (as well as other plots) while doing them all justice. I fear it's going to be rushed or there will be too many loose ends. We shall see.

Ultimate Spider-Man - A good episode to watch if only for the first animated depiction of the Iron Spider costume (that I know of). I adore that version of Spidey and it was nice seeing it paid tribute here. It doesn't quite save the show from mediocrity, however. The premise of the show has so much potential, it's a shame that the execution is just that: murder. I'd recommend watching the Iron Man/Spider-Man fight on youtube and skip the rest of the episode.

Marvel Universe Shorts - Blech. I'd be horrified that Marvel actually put effort into these, but apparently they didn't. They are already showing repeats of Marvel Master Class. Goes to show what happens when you desperately try to rip off DC with no soul put into the idea.

And that's all for now. Sorry about the delay, hopefully my next article will be out on time (which would be tomorrow! Better get started!)

Stay golden, comics fans!

No comments:

Post a Comment