There was so much potential for this episode of Blade. A cross-over with Wolverine set in Madripoor, the crime capitol of the Marvel Universe? On paper, that sounds like gold. Sadly, this isn't paper.Reviewed: Blade, Episode 7: Claws and Blades
Special: Wonder Women!
All of the setbacks that have pulled down every episode are still present here in full force. Lazy animation? Check. Repetitive battles with hordes of useless vamps that pose no threat to the main characters? Check. Design that borders on the ridiculous? Double check. And to add to all of that is the gem that is Anime Wolverine.
I'll get this out of the way right now. This is not Wolverine. He's too scrawny and pretty boy-ish, he barely does any fighting, and his voice actor is trying WAY too hard to sound gruff. Did I mention this guy got a solo series last year?
Now don't get me wrong, it wasn't the worst episode of the show. We learn a little more about the antagonists plans to start up a Vampire civil war; and that Lucious creep is taken care of in a satisfying way. Also, the little Malaysian vamps that grow when they drink blood were actually kind of cool. But all in all, the entire show has elicited one giant "meh" from me so far.

And speaking of Wolverine, he was in Madripoor to fight A.I.M.? I never watched the solo Wolverine anime, but that really seems more like Iron Man's turf. Go figure.
On a completely unrelated note, I found a new documentary that you might want to put on your radar. It's a look back on how women have been portrayed in comics and media. From the feminist origins of the WWII era, the "dark ages" of the 50's and 60's, and the rising empowerment from the women's rights movement on. It looks great and informative on a section of the comics world that doesn't get a lot of press. I'd keep an eye out for it when it releases soon.
And Riot Grrl. Because Riot Grrl is awesome.
No comments:
Post a Comment